Never Work Another Day Of Your Life

What would you do if you stopped working? 

Ok…since I’m not going to pay your bills, don’t quit your job before you read this! Let me explain what I mean by never working. Have you ever walked into the day dreading your work? It feels like work. Paperwork, meetings, presentations, watching the clock, lunch break, feeling tired, submitting reports, completing a project, checking the clock again, returning emails, and on and on it goes. Day after day the mundane norm of work kills our passion for what we do causing us to forget why we do it. 

We end up only working for a paycheck. The best part of our week easily becomes the weekend right after we get paid and we have a couple days to get away from what we have to do all week to make the weekend happen. If we don’t work we don’t eat! We work to survive, but what if we begun to work to thrive? I’ll tell you what happens when your occupation becomes filled with purpose. What happens when you begin using what you do every day to discover ways to add value to people’s lives. What happens when you begin using the everyday stuff you do to find ways to make the world a better place. Here’s what happens…all of a sudden what was an occupation of work becomes a vocation of purpose.

Imagine walking into your office, project, warehouse, or whatever you call your place of work with a new found passion for what you do because you’ve discovered why you do it. It’s not work anymore. It becomes purpose fulfilled. It is a calling. It becomes what you can’t wait to do. The weekend is no longer the best part, it is just the icing on top of the sweetness of what was previously your dreaded work week. So how do we stop working and start purposing to do good through what we do? Ask yourself the following questions and do all you can to answer them all week long:

1. How am I leveraging what I’m doing this week in my job to make the world a better place?

2. Who can I make smile because I walked into the room?

3. Do I know what my place of work offers in terms of volunteer opportunities? (i.e.: PTO to volunteer, outreach efforts, philanthropic opportunities I can assist with, etc.)

4. What high level decision maker at work can I speak with to discuss ideas of ways I can assist in leveraging our company for good in our community?

5. Am I ready to stop working and start doing what I do with a greater enderstanding of why I do it?

When we are intentional we will find that the world is waiting for people like you and I to make it better. We spend most of our daylight at our job so let’s use that time to reach beyond what we do and use those things to bring smiles, make things better, and feel fulfilled caring for others. As we use our lives to better other people’s lives one day we will discover the secret to it all…doing work isn’t work at all, it’s a blast. Stop working and start living!

 

One thought on “Never Work Another Day Of Your Life

Leave a comment